The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 1208)

CLARIFICATION ANNOUNCEMENT

Reference is made to the announcement of Minmetals Resources Limited dated 9 January 2008 (the "Announcement") in relation to the letter received from China Minmetals regarding potential investment in competing business. Unless otherwise defined herein, capitalized terms used in this announcement shall have the same meanings as those defined in the Announcement.

The Directors noted the following typographical errors in the Chinese version but not in the English version of the Announcement:

- 1. The Chinese version of "Should negotiation of transfer of part of shares of 山西關鋁股份有限公司 (Shanxi Guanlu Co. Ltd.) by China Minmetals be developed into mature stage" contained in the first paragraph of the summary box should have been stated as "倘中國五礦就轉讓山西關鋁股份有限公司部份股份之磋商達至成熟階段" instead of "倘中國五礦與山西關鋁股份有限公司就部份股份轉讓之磋商達至成熟階段"; and
- 2. 山西關鋁股份有限公司 (Shanxi Guanlu Co. Ltd.) should be established in 1998 instead of 1988 under the heading "Information about 山西關鋁股份有限公司 (Shanxi Guanlu Co. Ltd.)".

The Directors would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused by such inadvertent typographical errors.

Except as stated above, all the information in the Announcement remains unchanged.

By order of the Board
Minmetals Resources Limited
Xu Huizhong

Executive Director and President

Hong Kong, 10 January 2008

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors of the Company comprises ten directors, of which two are executive directors, namely Mr. Xu Huizhong and Mr. Ren Suotang; five are non-executive directors, namely Mr. Zhou Zhongshu (Chairman), Ms. Shen Ling, Mr. Zong Qingsheng, Mr. Wang Lixin and Mr. Cui Hushan; and three are independent non-executive directors, namely Mr. Liu Hongru, Mr. Chan Wai Dune and Mr. Ting Leung Huel, Stephen.