Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



CLARIFICATION ANNOUNCEMENT

Reference is made to the announcement of Minmetals Resources Limited (the "Company") dated 30 June 2009 (the "Announcement") in relation to the resignation and re-designation of non-executive directors of the Company.

In relation to the re-designation of Mr. Li Fuli ("Mr. Li") as a non-executive director, the chairman and a member of the remuneration committee of the Company and the re-designation of Mr. Wang Lixin ("Mr. Wang") as a non-executive director and the vice chairman of the Company with effect from 1 July 2009, the board of directors of the Company would like to provide further information on the particulars of Mr. Li and Mr. Wang as follows:

- 1. Mr. Li is also the chairman of Shanxi Guanlu Co. Ltd. (a company listed on the Shenzhen Stock Exchange) since 27 April 2009; and
- 2. Mr. Wang is also a director of Shanxi Guanlu Co. Ltd. (a company listed on the Shenzhen Stock Exchange) since 27 April 2009.

Save as disclosed above and in the Announcement, each of Mr. Li and Mr. Wang did not hold any other directorships in public companies the securities of which are listed on any securities market in Hong Kong or overseas in the last three years.

By Order of the Board **Minmetals Resources Limited Hao Chuanfu** *Executive Director and President*

Hong Kong, 2 July 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors of the Company comprises eleven directors, of which two are executive directors, namely Mr. Hao Chuanfu and Mr. Ren Suotang; six are non-executive directors, namely Mr. Li Fuli (Chairman), Mr. Wang Lixin (Vice Chairman), Ms. Shen Ling, Mr. Zong Qingsheng, Mr. Cui Hushan and Mr. Xu Jiqing; and three are independent non-executive directors, namely Mr. Li Dongsheng, Mr. Chan Wai Dune and Mr. Ting Leung Huel, Stephen.